Mopping up the muddle

Where to start? So many projects half started. I have just mopped the kitchen floor with a fresh mop head – irrelevant I know – but I think it’s given me new energy!

img_5805

First of all some proof that I made the McCall’s M6993 skirt for the Vintage Pledge 2016 mentioned in Getting a Badge. Taking the photographs was difficult, but luckily I had my intrepid photographer and stylist from 1950s Dirndl Skirt Remake at home for a fortnight. Alice was here on a vest-making marathon – seen here wondering what on earth has happened to the wildlife pond.img_5858

She took loads of pictures on a blustery  and blue-skyed afternoon – the top pic shows the skirt out of the wind. The one below is an accidental posture, but one that I think I should adopt more often – could even be a caption competition.

IMG_5761.jpg

I loved making the skirt. It’s a great pattern and I will definitely use it again.

Moving on – I went with my good friend Caroline to the Knitting and Stitching Show  this month. Here she is … with what looks like a bag of wool.

img_6248

Caroline took the reins on arrival and steered us up every avenue and then across every avenue so that we methodically viewed each stall. I was disorientated within minutes. Next year we are definitely going to buy a guide, for making notes.

Whilst there, I bought this great pattern from Now and Then Patterns.  Andree (of Now and Then Patterns) was free to chat to us – and  was wearing the Amelie Tuck Blouse in one of their most beautiful fabrics. Coincidentally she was also wearing the McCalls M6993 skirt, which looked fabulous in black.

In other news.

Sewing at Damgate has been continuing to hold its regular monthly all day workshops. These sessions are usually made up of three sewers. They sometimes bring their own machines. They sometimes travel here on the bus (very brave). They sometimes bring simple fare for a shared lunch. The aim, as always, is to have a fun and productive day.

img_5615

Spot the third sewer.

This year I have also inherited my mother-in-law’s sewing stash – some of which goes back to the 1930s, corset laces and bones. She is no longer sewing, but living close by.

I have also had a bit of a tidy up and sort out – long overdue.

 

And started a new jumper

img_5584

but it’s already been undone – and a different one begun.

So that’s it.

4 Comments

Filed under Knitting and Stitching Show, Sewing at Damgate, Vintage Pledge, Vintage Sewing Patterns

4 responses to “Mopping up the muddle

  1. Your skirt looks great, favourite current colour of mine is grey!
    I really like the look of that pattern you got, I’ve spotted it on some other posts, look forward to seeing it made up, and I might order it

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! If I had only seen the envelope cover of the Now & Then pattern, I might not have bought it – the collar looks a bit like a dressing up costume to me. But seeing it on Andree (in real life!), in fabric that was the perfect weight and colour, it looked quite different. I am definitely going to make it – just awaiting inspiration at the right price per metre!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree. I would probably make the smaller image and add the sleeves, but I also saw the odd collar on a made up photo and thought it looked much nicer than I expected. I really like the look of the bodice shaping. With the right fabric it would look lovely with your skirt!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The right fabric – now there’s an eternal challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

