Simplicity Sewing Project

Blogger

IMG_3527

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3732

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am entering the Simplicity Star Sewist Competition using their New Look pattern number 6145.  It is made up in a fine linen from MacCulloch and Wallis at 25-26 Poland Street, London W1F 8QN. The linen is a  blue and grey check and the pattern has been carefully matched throughout. It is interfaced with a fine muslin at the neck, cuffs and button bands.

IMG_4602IMG_4594

There is one pocket on the right side, set at an angle, positioned  to just cross over the side seam. This is cut on the bias to contrast with the straight lines of the dress and has a trim of piping in a blue/green silk.

There is a small kick pleat in the centre back seam.

I changed the neckline into a shallow V shape.

IMG_4580

I put buttons down the centre back to the waist, including a smaller button and loop at the top.

IMG_4576

The sleeves have been cut with length enough to form a neat cuff .

IMG_4581

 

The silk is also used to bind some of the raw edges on the wrong side of the dress giving a finer finish.

IMG_4586                 IMG_4583

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Simplicity Sewing Project

  1. caroline clover

    Great dress Kate

    Like

  2. scruffybadger

    Such a gorgeous dress! I love the attention to detail. I am writing a round up on my blog so I hope you dont mind me linking to your entry and blog post?

    Like

    • Thank you. I thought your dress was a very worthy winner and beautifully photographed. That’s great that you are doing a round up and I certainly don’t mind you linking to my site. Good to be in touch!

      Liked by 1 person

      • scruffybadger

        Brilliant! Well I have to say that I am coveting your dress big time!! It will be one of those designs imprinted on my memory until I try to make my own version!!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

